Fayemi Names Schools after Afenifere Leader, Three Others

Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi has named four newly established secondary schools in Ado-Ekiti, the State capital, after four prominent citizens of the state.

A statement by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr. Yinka Oyebode, explained that the four secondary schools billed to open for academic work by September, were established to cater for the growing population of students in Ado-Ekiti, which has led to over-stretching of learning facilities in some of the existing public schools in the State capital.

According to the statement, the schools were named after four illustrious sons of the state including, Afenifere leader and Second Republic Senator, Pa Ayo Fasanmi.

Others are, Chief Deji Fasuan, a former Permanent Secretary and Chairman, Committee for the creation of Ekiti State, Professor Banji Akintoye, renowned Historian and Second Republic Senator, as well as, David Oke, a Linguistic Professor and a member of the Senate during the Second Republic.

Governor Fayemi noted that the new schools would provide alternatives to secondary school students who trek long distance on daily basis.

The State governor, who has given approval for the establishment of additional two secondary schools next year, said plans were under way for the upgrade of three technical colleges in the state in partnership with the World Bank.

Dr. Fayemi urged parents to take advantage of his administration’s free and qualitative education programmes by ensuring that their children attend schools regularly.


Yinka Oyebode

Chief Press Secretary to the Governor


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *