EKHA Recommends Prosecution of Eight Suspended LG Chairmen

Ekiti State House of Assembly, EKHA, has reinstated eight out of the sixteen local government chairmen suspended by the immediate past assembly for alleged misappropriation of public fund.

The chairmen are to return to office pending the review of the corrupt charges against them.

This followed recommendations by the House Committee on Public petitions which was unanimously adopted by the House during a plenary session in Ado Ekiti.

The Association of Local Government Chairmen of Nigeria, ALGON, through its chairman, Mr. Dapo Olagunju had earlier petitioned the House calling for a re-examination of the allegations of misappropriation against them.

The councils with the reinstated chairmen are Ijero, Moba, Gboyin, Ado, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ikole, Ekiti Southwest and Ekiti West Local Governments.

However, the House upheld the suspension of eight other council chairmen which include Oye, Ise-Oru, Ekiti East, Ikere, Efon, Ido-Osi, Emure and Ilejemeje Local Governments.

Presenting his report, the Chairman, House Committee on Public Petitions, Mr. Adegoke Olajide said the eight chairmen were reinstated because they got permission of the supervising ministry on some of the projects they executed.

The committee recommended that the other eight chairmen on suspension should be prosecuted by the Ekiti State Ministry of Justice because of their inability to follow due process in spending fund.

Kayode Babatuyi

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *