Athens To Host Basketball Champions League Final Eight

The city of Athens has been awarded the hosting of the 2020 Basketball Champions League Final Eight.

Following FIBA’s decision on March 12 to cancel all international competition in order to protect the health and safety of players, coaches, officials and fans, the BCL Board took the unanimous decision on March 30 to resume and conclude the 2019-20 Season with the hosting of a Final Eight, single-game knock-out competition, to be held on September 30 – October 4, 2020.

Six teams have already qualified for the Final Eight .

They are;AEK (GRE), Casademont Zaragoza (ESP), ERA Nymburk (CZE), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR), San Pablo Burgos (ESP), and Türk Telekom (TUR). 

The two outstanding games, JDA Dijon (FRA) vs Nizhny Novgorod (RUS) and Iberostar Tenerife (ESP) vs Filou Oostende (BEL), still pending for the conclusion of the Round of 16, will be played prior to the hosting of the Final Eight, on September 16 (20:30 CET). 

Eight teams will participate in the pinnacle event of Basketball Champions League’s fourth season which will be played over the last weekend of September in the Greek capital.

The games will be played in the Nikos Galis Olympic Indoor Hall , regular home court of AEK.

The decision concerning the presence of fans in the arena will be taken at a later stage and in accordance to the rules and regulations set by the Greek official authorities. 

As part of this host city announcement, the logo of the 2020 Final Eight has also been unveiled.

Adedayo Adelowo

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *