Ogun State Government says is to deworm over 700,000 children in its annual school-based deworming programme across fourteen Local Government Areas of the state.

Commissioner for Health, Dr. Tomi Coker made this known in statement made available to newsmen in Abeokuta.

Dr. Coker stated that the exercise is to be flagged off in Abeokuta and will be on till twenty third of November this year.

She added that only the children between the ages of five and fourteen years will benefit from the programme. 

The health Commissioner explained that about five thousand teachers and six hundred health workers in the local government areas have been trained for the exercise.

She described the deworming medicines as safe, free and good for the health of the children. 

The Commissioner called on parents and guardians to work harmoniously with the health workers and teachers, who are saddled with the responsibility of carrying out the exercise.

The designated local government areas include Obafemi Owode, Abeokuta North, Abeokuta South, Odeda, Ewekoro, Yewa South, Yewa North, Remo North, Ikenne, Ijebu North, Ijebu North East, Ijebu East, Ogun Waterside and Imeko. 

Wale Oluokun


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *