Accord Affirms Adelabu as Oyo Guber Candidate

The National Chairman, Accord, Alhaji Muhammed Nalado has called on party members in Oyo state to bury their hatchets and support the party’s governorship candidate, Chief Adebayo Adelabu and other flag-bearers during the 2023 general election.

Alhaji Nalado gave the advice on Wednesday, while affirming Chief Adelabu as the recognized governorship candidate of the Party in Oyo state held at Obafemi Awolowo stadium, Oke-Ado Ibadan.

This followed voluntary stepping down of Chief Ayodele Oyajide from the race.

He maintained that the party is a unique alternative platform that would offer good governance to Nigerians.

In a remark, the National Secretary of the Party, Dr Adebukola Ajaja described Chief Adelabu as a reliable, peaceful and integrity-personified who would usher in development in all spheres of life.
“As a pillar of support for Accord since 2017, I am very happy, I feel blessed and remain grateful to God for his grace for me to do what others cannot do. I am very hopeful Chief Adebayo Adelabu has been affirmed to win and rule as governor of Oyo state come 2023”, Dr Ajaja stated.

Oyo state Chairman of the Party, Mr. Ojo Kolade expressed optimism that with the large turn out of supporters, affirmation of Chief Adelabu was an indication that the party would govern Oyo state come 2023.

Receiving the party flag, Chief Adebayo Adelabu, who said his emergence as Accord governorship candidate was through divine intervention and an indication that his time to govern Oyo state has come, appealed to party members to bury their grievances and work for his victory and other party candidates in the next general elections.

The returning officer at the event, Mr. Olayemi Olugbenga led other party supporters and delegates to pronounce the affirmation of Chief Adelabu in accordance with the 2022 Electoral Act.

Other party flag-bearers affirmed at the programme included the three Senatorial candidates, Mr. Shina Peller for Oyo North Senatorial District, Mr. Nurudeen Faozey for Oyo Central Senatorial District and Mr. Kolapo Kola-Daisi for Oyo South Senatorial District, Chief Jacob Ogunmola as member for Atisbo, Saki East and Saki West federal constituency and Mr. Ibrahim Iyiola, for Ibadan South East Constituency 1 at the Oyo state House of Assembly.

INEC Officials led by the Administration Secretary, Alhaji Biodun Onikate-Amosu were on ground to monitor the exercise in line with the provisions of the 2022 Electoral Act.

Nashirdeen Sherifdeen


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *