By Olubunmi Adewumi

On 29th of May, 1999, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, was sworn in as the President of Nigeria after winning the Presidential election to mark a return to democracy in the country.

The day known as Democracy day has been celebrated every year until 2018 when the then President, Muhammadu Buhari changed the celebration to June 12 of every year to honour the acclaimed winner of 1993 Presidential election, Chief Moshood Abiola.

This year’s celebration will mark one year in office of President Bola Tinubu, who assumed office on the 29th of May, 2023.

The federal government had in April, inaugurated a 28-man inter-ministerial committee on activities to mark the celebration of the one year in office of President Tinubu.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *