Tribunal Upholds Election of Oyo APC Reps

The National and House of Assembly Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Ibadan has upheld the victory of three members of House of Representatives from Oyo State.

The members of the Lower Chamber are Prince Olaide Akinremi of All Progressives Congress representing Ibadan North Federal Constituency,  Tolulope Sadipe also from All Progressives Congress representing Oluyole Federal Constituency and Oulu Yeti Taino of Iddo/ Ibarapa Federal Constituency.

In a unanimous decision the tribunal dismissed the petition filed by Kamil Omotosho of People’s Democratic Party against Prince Olaide Akinremi was on the ground that the petitioners failed to prove that allegation made in the petition affected the result of the election.

Reading the almost two hours judgement , a member of the panel, Justice Sambo Daka said the allegation that the respondent, Prince Olaide Akinremi was an ex convict was not proved as the petitioner also confirmed that the ruling which convicted the lawmaker in Liberia in 2013 had been vacated.

Justice Daka therefore dismissed the application with award of one hundred and fifty thousand naira against the petitioner.

In another judgement delivered by Justice Chinyere Ani, in a petition from Olawale Mogbonjubola of African Democratic Congress against the winner of march 23 election in Oluyole Federal Constituency, Mrs Tolulope Sadipe, the tribunal, rejected  most of the oral evidences presented by the witnesses  of the petitioner, saying many of them were not qualified.

Justice Ani said the petitioner failed to prove that the respondent was not duly elected as he could not prove the allegation of over voting he made.

The cost of one hundred and fifty thousand naira was also awarded against the petitioner.

On the petition filed by former commissioner for education in Oyo State, Professor Adeniyi Olowofela, against the member of House of Assembly  representing Iddo /Ibarapa  Federal Constituency, Mr. Oluyemi Taiwo, the panel also ruled that the petitioner failed to convince the tribunal the allegations made affected the result of the election.

Delivering judgement, the chairman of the panel, Justice Anthony  Amphibious also awarded  the cost of one hundred and fifty thousand naira against the petitioner.

Sunday Ogunyemi

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *