16 Internet Fraudsters Bags Jail Term in Abeokuta

A Federal High Court in Abeokuta has sentenced sixteen internet fraudsters also known as yahoo boys to different jail terms.

A statement by the spokesman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Mr. Dele Oyewole made available to newsmen in Abeokuta explained that Justice Mohammed Abubakar who presided over the court convicted the sixteen accused finding them guilty of criminal impersonation and possession of documents containing false pretenses.

The statement listed the names of the convicted as Ajibola Ibikunle, Victor Solomon Osahun, Adeniyi and Afeez Adebayo.

Other convicted included Enitan Babajide Ganiu, Ashore Gbogbo Ayo, Sobayo Oladapo, Odebode Abiola Jamiu and Dairo Emmanuel Olajide.

The list also includes Stephen Mathew, Hussain Abdulkabir, Ayanniyi Quadri Ayansegun, Ajibike Kehinde Segun, Ibironke Tomiwa Emmanuel,

Agboola Olanrewanju Shakiru, Abdulrauf Adam Opeyemi and Akinlabi Royal Ebube completed the list of the sixteen jailed yahoo boys.

Mr. Oyewole said the convicts were all in their mid-twenties and pleaded guilty to one-count charge of impersonation separately filed against them by the EFCC.

According to him, the Prosecution counsels, Mr. Bashir Shamsuddeen, and Mr. Abdulrasheed Suleiman prayed the court to convict them accordingly.

The breakdown of the jail terms showed that Odebode would be in jail for two months while Ajibola, Osahun, Adebayo, Enitan, Ashore, Matthew, Ajibike and Akinlabi were sentenced to three months jail each, while Ayanniyi, Sobayo, Ibironke and Abdulrauf would spend four months in jail.

Abdulkabir and Dairo were also handed six months jail term each, while Agboola was sentenced to eleven months imprisonment.

The statement noted that the court ruled that the convicts would all forfeit items recovered from them to the Federal Government of Nigeria while they must also restitute sundry sums to their respective victims.

Wale Oluokun

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *