Speak Out Against Gender-Based Violence, Rape – Oyo Gov. Wife

Wife of the Oyo State Governor, Engineer Mrs. Tamunominini Makinde has charged all female political appointees and wives of the local government caretaker chairmen in the state to speak out on how to end the incessant killing of innocent women, gender-based violence and sexual harassment in the state.

Mrs. Makinde made this known, during a virtual interactive session with all wives of the state’s local government caretaker chairmen, held at the conference room, Office of Her Excellency, Secretariat, Agodi, Ibadan.

While speaking through the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters, Mrs. Funmilayo Orisadeyi, Mrs. Makinde said the meeting was imperative, as she felt that the reported cases of rape and gender-based violence have become rampant, hence the need to stamp it out.

She, however, appealed to the women in the state to speak out on how to put a stop to the incessant killing of innocent women, violence against women and the girl-child as well as raping which is now high in the society.

In her remarks, wife of the Caretaker Chairman of Akinyele Local Government, Mrs. Ajarat Jimoh lauded the governor’s wife for her campaign against rape, adding that any positive means to fight against scourge was going to be put into consideration.

The virtual meeting was attended by the wives of the local government chairmen across the State, present among them are Mrs. Akande Mojoyinola of Ibadan South West Local Government, Mrs. Olaniye Folake of Obarapa Central Local Government, Mrs. Jumoke Akanbi, of Ibadan North Local Government, Mrs. Raji Sekinat, of Atisbo Local Government, Mrs. Busari Olanike Aiirat, of Saki West Local Government, Mrs. Omolola Alawode, of Ibadan South West Local Government, Mrs. Halimat Ibrahim of Atiba Local Government, Mrs. Jimoh Ajarat, of Akinyele Local Government and Mrs. Oyinloye Monsurat, of Iwajowa Local Government.

Also in attendance was Mrs Ajagbe Miftiah of Ogbomoso South, Mrs Suliamon Ayisat, of Irepo Local Government, Hajia Arowosaye of Oyo East, Mrs Shittu .A, of Ibarapa North, Mrs Akinola L.A, of Itesiwaju, Mrs Abilawon Sade, of Iseyin Local Government, Mrs Afolabi Martar of Kajola, Mrs Najeem Odiat, Saki East, Mrs Obelawo Victoria, Ibarapa East, Mrs Salami Khadija Opeyemi, Oyo West, Mrs Okeleye Deborah Olabisi, Afijio, Mrs Folasade Egbewoyin of Egbeda Local Government, Mrs Oyedokun Oyeniyi Eunice, Ogbomoso Local Government, Mrs Ayandeji Jeremiah, Olorunsogo Igbeti, Mrs Adepoju Folasade Aiirat of Ibadan North West, and Mrs Kelani R. B of Lagelu local government area.

Lara Ayoade

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *