OYHA To Screen OYSIEC Nominees Ahead of LG Elections

The Oyo State House of Assembly, OYHA, will on Thursday screen members of the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission, OYSIEC, towards the preparation for the forthcoming local government election in the state.

The state assembly received the names of the OYSIEC nominees through a letter forwarded by the governor of the state, Engineer Seyi Makinde and read on the floor of the House by the Speaker, Mr. Adebo Ogundoyin.

The names of eight members to ‎constitute OYSIEC are; Barrister Isiaka Olagunju as Chairman while Mr Adeniyi Afeez Babatunde, Alhaja Ganiyat Saka, Mr Olanrewaju Emmanuel, Chief Kunle Agboola, Mr Remi Ayoade, Mr Sunday Falana and Mr Adeojo Elias are members.

The Speaker noted that the board of OYSIEC should have been constituted before now but was delayed due to the court case instituted by the dissolved local government chairmen in the state. 

Mr. Ogundoyin expressed happiness that the conduct of local government elections in the state will further help to extend dividends of democracy to the people.

The speaker advised the nominees to submit their curriculum vitae to the office of the Clerk of the House latest Wednesday 26th August 2020 to allow lawmakers to have access to relevant information about them.

Mosope Kehinde

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *