Ogun Sets Up Committees To Address Police Brutality

Governor Dapo Abiodun has set up three committees aimed at providing answers to the agitations of the youths protesting against police brutality in the state.

According to a statement made available by the Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr. Kunle Somorin in Abeokuta, while the governor appointed a retired Justice Solomon Olugbemi as the Chairman of the Judicial Panel of Investigation on alleged cases of Police brutalities against citizens of the state, the governor is to head the second committee on Special Security and Human Rights Committee while the third committee has Mr Joseph Ogunniyi of the Nigeria Bar Association, Ota branch as the Ombudsman.

The statement said the appointments were in line with the resolution of the National Economic Council at its last meeting.

The committees list include the Judicial Panel of Investigation which has Retired Justice Solomon Olugbemi as the Chairman, Comrade Olayinka Folarin member, Ms Omonajevwe Janet Abiri member and retired Deputy Inspector General of Police, Babatunde Ogunyanwo as member.

Other members of the committee include Comrade AbdulJabar Ayelagbe, Comrade Bamgbose Tomiwa, Ms Aisekegbe Momodu and Mrs. Oluwatosin T. Ogundele that will serve as the secretary of the committee.

The term of reference of the committee include to receive and investigate complaints of police brutality, human rights violations or related extra-judicial killings; evaluate evidence presented and recommend compensation and other remedial measures, where appropriate.

The Special Security and Human Rights Committee has the governor, Prince Dapo Abidoun as chairman with Heads of the security agencies in the State as members.

Other members include Head of any special tactical unit of the Police in the State charged with fighting armed robbery and other violent crimes, Mr. Babatunde Adeluola, representing the youths, Mrs. Peju Osoba representing civil society and Comrade Obatungashe Israel Adebayo.

The terms of reference of the committee include the task of ensuring the protection of the rights of citizens by all security and law enforcement agencies; monitor the prosecution of any officer indicted by the Presidential Panel on Police Reforms and entertain complaints of human rights violations from the State’s Human Rights Complaints Office.

The third committee, Human Rights Complaints Office has Mr. Joseph Ogunniyi as the Ombudsman while other members include Mr. Bamidele Adebayo and Mr. Shodeinde Oluwaponmile.

The committee is to facilitate easy access of complainants to prompt attention and assistance and give regular reports to the Special Security and Human Rights Committee for action.

The governor also announced Victims’ Support Fund of Fifty Million Naira set aside as start-up amount to enable payment of monetary compensation to deserving victims.

Wale Oluokun

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *