Ogun Chief Judge Inaugurates Election Petition Tribunals For Local Government

The Chief Judge of Ogun State, Justice Mosunmola Dipeolu has inaugurated Election Petition Tribunals for the recently concluded Local Government election in the State.

Inaugurating the Election Petition Tribunal at the State High Court complex, Kobape, Abeokuta, Justice Dipeolu explained that the step was to allow opposition parties seek redress over the outcome of the election.

The Ogun state chief judge who implored members of the panels against delay, also encouraged them to discharge their duties in line with the provisions of the law.

The first panel is headed by Mr Akintunde Olurotimi Oyeyinka as the chairman, with Chief Lukman Abiodun Abdullahi and Mrs Olayinka Kukoyi as members.

In the second panel, Otunba Rotimi Onafadeji was appointed as Chairman while Mr Rabiu Olarenwaju Ibrahim and Mrs Adedoyin Adijat Alaba would serve as members.

The opposition parties had expressed worry that the state judiciary failed to set up tribunal more than one week after results of polls were announced.

The ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, had swept all the 20 chairmanship and 236 councillors seats in the council polls held on July 24.

Olusegun Folarin

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *