Adeboye, Akande, 26 Others, Honoured At Osun@30 Awards

Twenty-eight distinguished individuals have been honored with various awards to mark the 30th anniversary of the creation of Osun State.

Some of the awardees included the General Overseer of the Redeemed Christian Church of God, Pastor Enoch Adejare Adeboye, former Chief of Defense Staff, Retired Lieutenant General Alani Akinrinade, former Governor of Osun State, Chief Bisi Akande and legal luminaries, Mallam Yusuf Ali, Gboyega Awomoolo, both whom are Senior Advocates of Nigeria, SANs.

Speaking at the event, Governor Adegboyega Oyetola, charged citizens to put their collective strength to work, irrespective of their political differences and sentiments, for a greater tomorrow, saying that state-building is a collective enterprise.

Describing the event as symbolic, Mr. Oyetola, who ensured a minute silence was held in honour of the first Civilian Governor of the State, the late Chief Isiaka Adeleke, said it was deserving to pay tributes to the illustrious men and women who had held sway as leaders of the people.

Also speaking at the event, the Alaafin of Oyo, His Imperial Majesty, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi, commended the government of Osun State on the awards, describing it as a welcome development because of its potential to ignite high hopes and hunger for diligence and excellence in the youths.

Similarly, the Governor of Ondo State, Mr. Rotimi Akeredolu lauded the Osun State government for celebrating individuals who had made tremendous impact in their endeavors.

One of the Awardees, Mallam Yusuf Ali, SAN, pledged to continue to contribute his quota to the state and mankind in general.

One of the high points of the event was the decoration of the former Military Administrators and Governors of the state since its creation in 1991 by the incumbent, Governor Adegboyega Oyetola. 

Governor Oyetola was in turn decorated by former Governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola.

The event had in attendance former and sitting governors across Nigeria, including: former Ogun State Governor, Otunba Gbenga Daniel; former Oyo State Governor, Otunba Alao Akala, Minister of Youth and Sport Development, Mr. Sunday Dare; first class traditional rulers, including the Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi; the Ooni of Ife, His Imperial Majesty, Oba Enitan Adeyeye Ogunwusi who was represented; Obi of Onitsha, Igwe Alfred Achebe among other dignitaries.

However, the immediate past Osun State governor, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola was the only former Governor of the state who was absent at the event. Adenitan Akinola

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *