The Ondo State House of Assembly has moved to serve impeachment notice on the embattled Deputy Governor, Mr Agboola Ajayi.

The lawmakers at a plenary presided over by the Speaker, Mr Bamidele Oleyelogun alleged the deputy governor of gross misconducts.

Citing necessary portion of the constitution, the Speaker directs that the notice be served on the deputy governor, Mr Agboola Ajayi.

Mr Oleyelogun claimed that fourteen members signed the document backing the impeachment process.

Radio Nigeria correspondent, Olumide Abudu reports that the event took a different turn as nine members led by the Deputy Speaker, Mr Iroju Ogundeji, dissociated self from the purported impeachment process based on personal convictions.

The nine members noted that the fourteen members who claimed to have signed the document failed to meet quorum as stipulated in the constitution maintaining that such move would not work out.

Meanwhile security had earlier been beefed up at the entrance to the assembly complex to avoid unforeseen circumstances.

Olumide Abudu


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *