Ondo@45: Resident Tasks Government on Development of Infrastructure

Ondo State which was established on February 3rd, 1976 by the Murtala Mohammed administration has clocked 45 years.

As one of the thirty-six states in the federation, Ondo State located in the south-western zone of Nigeria is made up of eighteen council areas.

The state which lies entirely in the tropics and is bounded in the north by Ekiti and Kogi States, in the east by Edo state, in the west by Osun and Ogun States and in the south by the Atlantic ocean, covers over fourteen thousand square kilometers of land.

In political governance, Ondo State has had seventeen military and civilian administrations starting from Wing Commander David Ikpeme till the present governor, Mr Oluwarotimi Akeredolu.

Meanwhile, residents of the state have expressed their views about the level of development in Ondo State in the last forty-five years and then demanded that more be done.

Basorun Sehinde Arogbofa who was part of the struggle to have the state created said the people were happy that governance was brought closer to them but hammered on quality governance.

Also speaking, a don at Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko, Dr Dayo Afe asked the government in the state to focus on infrastructure development.

Others who spoke with Radio Nigeria charged the government to be committed to more people-oriented projects.

Dupe Isename

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *