Osun APC Kicks-off Registration Of New Members

Osun State governor, Mr Gboyega Oyetola has canvassed mass participation in the All Progressives Congress, APC, membership registration and revalidation exercise.

Governor Oyetola stated this at the flag-off of the APC membership registration and revalidation exercise in Ila-Orangun and Iragbiji, the headquarters of Ila and Boripe Local Governments.

The governor said the registration exercise became necessary as it would afford the leadership of the party the opportunity to update the membership register of the party by accommodating new members while also enabling existing members to revalidate their membership.

Governor Gboyega Oyetola after revalidating his membership of the APC

He noted that the exercise would further help to expand the membership base of the party which, according to him, was in tandem with the reform that National Caretaker and Extra-ordinary/Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) put in place.

In his remarks, the former Governor of Osun State and pioneer interim APC National Chairman, Chief Abdul-Kareem Adebisi Akande, expressed profound gratitude to the leadership of the party for the honour of being the second person to register after President Muhammadu Buhari.

While urging the party leadership to make a huge success of the registration exercise which he said would determine the success of the party in future elections, the former governor charged the Governor Buni-led Caretaker Committee to resist all temptations of sit-tight syndrome.

Earlier, the leader of the APC Membership Registration and Revalidation Monitoring Committee in Southwest, Senator Lawali Shuaib, commended Chief Akande for being resolute and committed to democratic tenets and party’s principles since its establishment.

Senator Lawali noted that the choice of Ila Orangun, the home town of Chief Akande, as the venue for the southwest flag-off registration exercise, was a deliberate decision.

Wasiu Ajadosu

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *