OYSIEC Releases Local Government Election Timetable

The Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission, OYSIEC, on Monday, said elections into the 33 Local Government Councils of Oyo State will hold on Saturday, 15th May, 2021.

The Chairman, State Independent Electoral Commission, Aare Isiaka Olagunju, SAN, disclosed this during a press conference held at the OYSIEC headquarters, Agodi GRA, Ibadan.

According to the OYSIEC boss, the nomination form for the position of chairman will cost two hundred and fifty thousand naira, while hundred thousand naira will be paid to the obtain councilor nomination form.

He, however, enjoined stakeholders concerned to give their support and cooperation to the commission in a bid to organize and conduct free, fair, and credible local government council’s election in Oyo state.

When quizzed about the ongoing court case which may serve as a bottleneck to the upcoming local government council elections, the OYSIEC Chairman explained that there is no cause for alarm, noting that the Supreme Court would have given its judgment before the election holds.

According to the election timetable released by the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission, campaigns by political parties will commence on Wednesday, 17th February 2021, and end on Friday, 14th May 2021.

Adedayo Adelowo

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *