Osun APC Adopts Consensus As Aregbesola’s Supporters Kick

The Ward Congress of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, held peacefully across the 30 local government areas of Osun State.

Party members have trooped out in large numbers as early as seven o’clock in the morning to participate in the exercise.

The electoral materials also arrived the affected polling locations early enough accompanied by officials selected by the national headquarters of the party.

However, the party members did not agree on the particular modus operandi of conducting the congress.

In majority of councils including Boripe, Osogbo, Ila, Olaoluwa, Iwo, Ayedaade, Isokan and Irewole, members agreed on consensus as recommended by the national leadership, while in few other areas including some parts of Ejigbo, Ilesa East and West, party faithful insisted on contest to enable every eligible member vote.

This division is obviously between a faction of the party loyal to the Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola who parade themselves under the tag, The Osun Progressives, TOP, and the Ileri Oluwa group consisting those loyal to the incumbent governor, Mr. Gboyega Oyetola.

Speaking in his country home in Iragbiji, Governor Gboyega Oyetola described the exercise as the first time party members would agree on choice of ward officials without any rancour.

Governor Oyetola commended members of the party for their peaceful conduct during the exercise.

Similarly, the Chairman of the National Congress Committee in Osun State, Mr. Gbenga Elegbeleye commended party members for their conduct at ensuring that the process went peacefully.

Mr. Elegbeleye said there was no parallel congress anywhere in Osun state.

Adenitan Akinola

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *