Osun Assembly has confirmed some Commissioners and Special Advisers nominees after the due screening process held last week Friday. 

The Assembly approved the confirmation of the nominees whose names were forwarded by the Governor on June 23 after Mr Babatunde Komolafe, lawmaker representing Atakumosa East/West, moved the motion for their confirmation.

Mr Simeon Popoola the chairman of the Seven-Man Ad Hoc Committee that screened the ex-cabinet members (nominees), had earlier submitted its committee’s report and recommended that all the nominees be confirmed.

The Speaker, Mr Timothy Owoeye, said the ad hoc committee set up to screen the nominees operated under Section 103 of the Constitution of Nigeria 1999.

Mr Owoeye recommended that the Governor could thereafter go ahead and swear in the nominees after the Assembly had confirmed their nomination for the designated positions.

The confirmed former cabinet members included: the former Osun Commissioner for Finance, Mr Bode Olaonipekun, former Commissioner for Women Affairs, and Olubukola Olaboopo.

Former Commissioner for Environment, Sola Oladepo, former Special Adviser on Lands, Mr Aleem Bakare, former Special Adviser on Cabinet Matters, Alhaja Lateefat Giwa and Mrs Olanike Omoworare (a new nominee).

Also, the lawmaker representing Ife South, Mr Benjamin Ogundipe raised the issue of mining along Osogbo-Iwo road, and that it posed danger to motorists plying the route.

The speaker, however, said the coordinating director of the Osun Ministry of Environment and Sanitation be summoned to give reports on mining companies in the state.

Mojisola Oladele


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *