Atlanta-based worship team, Maverick City Music has taken home the most awards in the Christian categories at the 65th Grammy Awards held in Los Angeles, United States.

The band took home four awards with three of those coming in their collaborations with Gospel music great, Kirk Franklin.

The group in a Facebook post following the win said, “Wow!! Fam!! We are incredibly honored and grateful to our Father for using us in this space and to YOU for always supporting us!”

“This is the beginning”

There are five categories for Christian artists each year at the Grammys.

  1. Best Gospel Performance/Song
  2. Best Contemporary Christian Music Performance/Song
  3. Best Gospel Album
  4. Best Contemporary Christian Music Album
  5. Best Roots Gospel Album

The nominees and winners for the Christian categories are as follows:

Best Gospel Performance/Song

‘Positive’ — Erica Campbell; Erica Campbell, Warryn Campbell, & Juan Winans, songwriters

‘When I Pray’ — Doe; Dominique Jones & Dewitt Jones, songwriters

WINNER: ‘Kingdom’ — Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin; Kirk Franklin, Jonathan Jay, Chandler Moore, & Jacob Poole, songwriters

‘The Better Benediction’ — PJ Morton featuring Zacardi Cortez, Gene Moore, Samoht, Tim Rogers, & Darrel Walls; PJ Morton, songwriter

‘Get Up’ — Tye Tribbett; Brandon Jones, Christopher Michael Stevens, Thaddaeus Tribbett, & Tye Tribbett, songwriters

Best Contemporary Christian Music Performance/Song

‘God Really Loves Us (Radio Version);’ — Crowder feat. Dante Bowe and Maverick City Music; Dante Bowe, David Crowder, Ben Glover, & Jeff Sojka, songwriter

‘So Good’ — Doe; Chuck Butler, Dominique Jones, & Ethan Hulse, songwriters

‘For God Is With Us’ — For King & Country & Hillary Scott; Josh Kerr, Jordan Reynolds, Joel Smallbone, & Luke Smallbone, songwriters

WINNER: ‘Fear Is Not My Future’ — Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin; Kirk Franklin, Nicole Hannel, Jonathan Jay, Brandon Lake, & Hannah Shackelford, songwriters

‘Holy Forever’ — Chris Tomlin; Jason Ingram, Brian Johnson, Jenn Johnson, Chris Tomlin, & Phil Wickham, songwriters

“Hymn of Heaven (Radio Version)” — Phil Wickham; Chris Davenport, Bill Johnson, Brian Johnson, & Phil Wickham, songwriters

Best Gospel Album

Die to Live — Maranda Curtis

Breakthrough: The Exodus (Live) — Ricky Dillard

Clarity — Doe

WINNER: One Deluxe — Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

All Things New — Tye Tribbett

Best Contemporary Christian Music Album

Lion — Elevation Worship

WINNER: Breathe — Maverick City Music

Life After Death — TobyMac

Always — Chris Tomlin

My Jesus — Anne Wilson

Best Roots Gospel Album

Let’s Just Praise the Lord — Gaither Vocal Band

Confessio – Irish American Roots — Keith & Kristyn Getty

The Willie Nelson Family — Willie Nelson

2:22 — Karen Peck & New River

WINNER: The Urban Hymnal — Tennessee State University Marching Band

CHVN Radio/Maxwell Oyekunle


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *