Super Eagles miss out on CAF-Fifpro Best XI as Mane is Voted Africa Number One

Sadio Mane is crowned CAF Footballer of the year. (Source – CAFOnline)

Sadio Mane of Sengal and Liverpool FC was last night crowned African Footballer of the year 2019 in a colorful ceremony at the Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh Resort in Hurghada, Egypt. Mane polled 477 votes to defeat his Liverpool teammate, Egypt’s Mohamd Salah who received 325 votes, and Manchester City’s Algerian winger, Riyad Mahrez, who garnered 267 votes.

The award ceremony, which featured performances by Tanzanian afro-pop star, Diamond Platinumz and Lebanese group Mayyas, winners of the 2019 edition of the Arabs Got Talent television reality show was hosted by Cameroon legend Samuel Eto’o, Egyptian presenter Mariam Amin and Moroccan artist, Fayrouz Al Karawani.

CAF Best X1

Notably; there was no room for any Super Eagles’ players in the CAF-Fifpro Best XI. Additionally, young talents Victor Osimhen and Samuel Chukwueze missed out on the CAF Youth Player Award, meaning the only source of cheer for Nigeria came from Asisat Oshoala who was crowned African Women’s Player of the Year for the a record equaling fourth time, tying the record set by compatriot Perpetua Nkwocha. Oshoala received 351 votes to relegate Cameroonian forward Ajara Nchout and South African forward Thembi Kgatlana to second and third place respectively.


African Player of the Year

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

African Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

African Interclubs Player of the Year

Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

African Men’s Coach of the Year

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)

African Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

African Men’s National Team of the Year


African Women’s National Team of the Year


Club President of the Year

Moise Katumbi (TP Mazembe)

Federation of the Year

Egyptian Football Association

Goal of the Year

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria vs Nigeria, Total Africa Cup of Nations Egypt 2019 semi final)

Special Award

Kojovi Obilale (former Togolese goalkeeper)

CAF-Fifpro Best XI

Goalkeeper: Andre Onana

Defenders: Achraf Hakimi, Serge Aurier, Joel Matip, Kalidou Koulibaly

Midfielders: Idrissa Gueye, Riyad Mahrez, Hakim Ziyech

Forwards: Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *