By Olusegun Folarin

Athletes from Kenya have emerged winners of the Abeokuta 10 kilometers race.

Peter Nwaniki crossed the finish line on 28 minutes, 14 seconds to emerge winner of the 2023 edition of the race and went home with 5 thousand dollars prize money.

Kiypeko Kennedy also from Kenya came second with 29 minutes 29 seconds and got 3 thousand dollars while Kibil Frederic went home with 1 thousand dollars prize money for crossing the finish line on 30 minutes 21 seconds.

In the women elite category, Kipsiror Shamillar from Kenya crossed the line on 32 minutes, 22 seconds to emerge winner, Violah Jepkosgei came second with 34 minutes, 34 seconds while Patience Daylop from Plateau state came third and also the first female Nigerian athlete to Cross the line on 36 minutes, 36 seconds.

Patience Daylop went home 1 thousand dollars as well as one million naira prize money in her category.

Francis James from Plateau state won the race as the first Nigerian athlete to cross the line on 31 minutes, 08 seconds and went home with one million naira prize money.

Speaking with journalists, Francis James said Nigerian athletes would soon catch up with their counterparts from the East Africa nations with adequate preparations and motivations.

Governor Dapo Abiodun, who flagged off the race at Iya Oloke Area of Abeokuta, said the present administration remained committed to the implementation of youth oriented programmes and policies.

Represented by his deputy, Mrs Noimot Salako-Oyedele, Governor Abiodun used the occasion to appealed to the Youth to desist from acts capable of truncating their future, describing sports as a veritable platform to brighten their future.

The initiator of the race who is also the Chairman, Local Organising Committee for the 2024 National Youths Festival,  Chief Bukola Olopade expressed satisfaction with the outcome of the race, noting that the race would continue to get better annually.

Subscribe to our Telegram and YouTubeChannels also join our Whatsapp Update Group


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *