By Jeffrey Ahonmisi

29 Yoruba Nation agitators have been arraigned before the Chief Magistrates Court in Ibadan for their involvement and roles in the failed invasion of the Governor’s Office and the state House of Assembly.

They were arraigned on seven counts of treasonable felony, unlawful society, illegal possession of firearms, and conduct likely to cause breach of peace.

The suspects, including a young woman and five elderly women, were remanded by Chief Magistrate Olabisi Ogunkanmi at the Agodi Correctional Centre in Ibadan.

Chief Magistrate Ogunkanmi, thereafter, adjourned the matter till August 1st, for mention.

Earlier, the prosecution counsel, CSP Funke Fawole, told the court that the defendants had on Saturday, at about 8.30 a.m., conspired to commit a treasonable felony.

Fawole said the offence is contrary to and punishable under Section 516 of the Criminal Code, Cap 38, Vol.II, Laws of Oyo State of Nigeria, 2000.

It would be recalled that some masked persons suspected to be Yoruba Nation agitators invaded the state secretariat, Agodi, Ibadan, last Saturday to hoist their flag before the joint security personnel demobilised them.

The state Commissioner of Police, Hamzat Adebola paraded 21 suspects on Monday at the Oyo State police headquarters, Eleyele, Ibadan.

The police made eight more arrests in addition to the 21 paraded on Monday making the total number of arrested suspects 29.

Subscribe to our Telegram and YouTube Channels and also join our Whatsapp Update Group


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *