APC Rejects Oyo South Senatorial Election Results

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared Dr. Mohammed Kola Balogun of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, as the winner of the Oyo South Senatorial District in last Saturday’s election.

The INEC Returning officer, Professor Wole Akinsola from the University of Ibadan, announced that Dr. Balogun polled 105,720 votes to defeat his closet rival, the incumbent Governor of the state, Senator Abiola Ajimobi of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who polled 92,218 votes.

The incumbent senator from the district, Soji Akanbi of African Democratic Party, ADC, came third with 49,437 votes, followed by the candidate of Action Democratic Party, ADP, Dr. Fola Akinosun who had 13,149 votes.

Meanwhile, the APC in the state says it has rejected the outcome of the Oyo South Senatorial District result.

While speaking with Radio Nigeria, the state publicity secretary of the party, Dr. Abdulazeez Olatunde alleged that there was violence in some wards at Ibadan Southeast Local Government which had affected the outcome of the election.

Dr. Olatunde noted that a petition to that effect had been submitted to the appropriate quarters.

In his own reaction, the representative of the PDP at the Oyo South Senatorial Collation Center, Mr. Olumuyiwa Makinde described the outcome of the election as a victory for democracy and the voice of the people of the senatorial district.

Oluwakayode Banjo

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *