Ogun Governor Dissolves Transport Unions, Constitutes Adhoc Hajj Committee

Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State has announced the dissolution of all transport unions in the state with immediate effect.

The governor has also constituted a 13-member committee headed by Mr. Sunday Adeniyi to coordinate the activities of the road transport unions with Mr. Tunji Akinosi as Secretary.

Governor Abiodun’s Chief Press Secretary, Mr. Kunle Somorin who made this known in a statement listed the mandate of the Road Transport Associations’ Interim committee to include reviewing the operations of the unions and making recommendations on how the unions could be better organised to support the developmental agenda of the state.

Mr. Somorin also explained that in the absence of a substantive Muslim Welfare Board, Governor Abiodun equally constituted an Ad-hoc Committee, chaired by Imam Mufutau Majekodunmi to coordinate this year’s Hajj operations for the state’s intending pilgrims to Mecca and Medina.

He stated that Alhaji Abdul Yekin Arimyau Parakoyi had been appointed as the state’s Amirul Hajj for this year’s pilgrimage.

Members of the Hajj committee, according to the governor’s aide, are Alhaji Abdul Gafar Orunsolu, Imam Rufai Sile, Alhaji Misbau Salako and Alhaji Tijani Hassan Ishola.

He pointed out that Alhaji Tunde Oladunjoye, Dr (Mrs) Raheemat Oloyede, Mr. Kamaru Oduntan and Alhaja Bisola Aliu were also included in the committee.

On the terms of reference of the Road Transport Associations’ Interim committee, Mr. Somorin said it was saddled with the responsibility of educating and creating awareness among stakeholders in the sector on the need to ensure peaceful conduct at all times and avoid activities that could undermine the peace, security as well as the safety of lives and property in the state.

He also said the transport committee was expected to institute disciplinary actions against anyone that undermines public peace and to harness the revenue potential of the road transport sector for enhanced Internally Generated Revenue, IGR.

The governor’s Chief Press Secretary listed members of the Transport Committee to include Mr. Kunle Adeyemi, Mr. Afolabi Afuape, Mr. Aremu Babatunde, Olaitan Asekun, Mr. Jokotade Taofeek Kashimawo and Mr. Kunle Mudashiru.

He added that Mr. Sule Abbas, Mr. Razaq Adetokunbo, Mr. Lekan Oguntayo, Mr. Yaya Fadipe and Mr. Kayode Fabiyi were  also part of the committee.

Mr. Somorin charged the committee  to make recommendations  on the ways to improve the unions, adding that the dissolution order was with immediate effect.

Oluremi Olugbenro

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *