By Bukola Bardi

All is now set for the conduct of the governorship primary election of the ruling All Progressives Congress APC, in Ondo State today.

Sixteen aspirants are jostling for the party’s ticket ahead of the November 16, 2024 governorship election in the state.

They are, the incumbent Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa, Chief Olusola Oke (SAN), Wale Akinterinwa, Isaacs Kekemeke, Senator Jimoh Ibrahim, Mrs Funmilayo Waheed-Adekojo, Folakemi Omogoroye, Olusoji Ehinlanwo and Jimi Odimayo

Others are, Prince Diran Iyantan, Mayowa Akinfolarin, Olugbenga Edema, Prof. Adedayo Faduyile, Brigadier-General Felix Ohunyeye,(rtd) Morayo Lebi and Ifeoluwa Oyedele.

Already, the party had opted for a direct primary to pick its standard bearer and the election will be held in all the 203 political wards across the state.

The APC had on Thursday announced Kogi state governor, Usman Ododo as the Head of a seven-man committee constituted to oversee the primary election.

In an interview with journalists in Akure, the Ondo State Resident Electoral Commissioner of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Mrs Oluwatoyin Babalola said the commission was ready to monitor the primary.

She disclosed that the APC has notified the commission of their intentions to participate in the November election and the date of their primaries with the direct mode of the exercise

On security arrangements, the state Commissioner of Police, Mr Abayomi Oladipo said the command would ensure a hitch-free exercise across Ondo state.

Subscribe to our Telegram and YouTube Channels and also join our Whatsapp Update Group


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *